The Five W’s of Upwards of Twenty

I began pondering the idea of blogging a few years back. I feel the main reason was due to the fact that I was spending a lot of my free time reading other financial blogs and really felt that hearing other average people’s stories and how they made it work really inspired me to a new level. The idea of power in numbers definitely rang true. I have made just as many if not more financial mistakes in my life than the average Joe. I have taken on senseless debt numerous times, overextended my budget and self too many times to count, and tried to run a few minimally successful businesses. All of these experiences left me feeling like a financial failure. I took a course that my Father was administering at church called “No Debt, No Sweat”. The author of the course came across as a goof but his points were strong and it helped get me back in the groove. Being able to hear other people’s stories of how debt was affecting them physically and mentally was shocking. My wife (who took the course with me) also felt the same and this helped open up discussions amongst our family. This began my push to put my experiences on paper and The idea behind Upwards of Twenty was born.

20140601-002124-1284351.jpg

Who
I feel that the Who I am writing for and trying to reach is a two-part question. First I am trying to open up and come to terms with my inner financial struggles and create a plan to help create a different mind frame, focused on wealth building through investments and savings. The second group I am trying to reach is the average person who needs ideas on how to create wealth through different means. The blog allows for a larger platform to reach people from all walks of life and hopefully we can all gain knowledge through this medium.

What
Through the use of all available investments I plan on seeing how far an average person can take a $20 investment. These investments coupled with different saving methods should lead to a profitable outcome of knowledge and money. This also can be answered with the question What is the purpose of the blog? The purpose is to become a millionaire…..now we got that nonsense out-of-the-way, the real reason behind the blog is a personal output for the knowledge and experiences I have, and input from the followers and outside world as well.

When
I had hoped to start the blog in 2013 but life set me back. The addition of a new daughter to my team being the reason for delay. I would delay anything for my family, so I started with the new year of 2014. I had been compiling ideas for at least six months prior and researching ideas.

Why
Why not should be the question? I feel that everybody has something unique that they can share through writing/ blogging. I feel that if we can all share thoughts and ideas the message can be that much more powerful. We all will make financial mistakes and financial gains. Seeing how another approaches a similar situation can be interesting, maybe even amazing

Where
There will be no focused area for investing. I feel the idea is to explain many different ways to turn a profit. There will be no investment too small/large, I have already talked about picking up change off the ground. Future ideas include stocks, bartering, crafts, and many others. The actual location of my personal sales will be mostly the state of Florida, US and other areas I travel for work and play.

So there it is, I hope as the site becomes more involved, my readers feel the journey beneficial. I know I do already and thank you for reading. JB

About upwardsoftwenty

Family man with two lovely daughters and a beautiful wife. I work in the Real Estate industry and own two small businesses. I enjoy fishing and life in general.
This entry was posted in Finance, Five W, Personal Growth, Profit, Savings, Why and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Five W’s of Upwards of Twenty

  1. Naomi says:

    I’m a recent follower of your blog and I’m looking forward to your future posts. I’m a new personal finance blogger and I have almost the same approach as you regarding the direction that you would like to see your site grow. I’m coming into the blogging scene very open-minded and I’m looking forward to learning as much as I can. My current focus is knocking out my student loan debt and maybe… just maybe I’d like to dabble in some type of investing in the future. So much to learn and there’s a wealth of knowledge for us to just soak up!

    • Naomi thanks for the comments. I will follow your blog as well. Let’s see if we can grow them together. Student loan debt can be a heavy weight to bear. Keep pushing and let others insight help along the way. JB

Leave a Reply

